How We Use ClickUp as a Writer


ClickUp has many features that are really easy to use. The purpose of this article is to show you how you, as a writer, will be using ClickUp to be able to track time and work with fellow writers to make a big collection of useful content.

Chats

Our primary source of communication will happen in the built-in chat system in ClickUp.

Getting to a workspace

On the sidebar click on Spaces -> Shared with me -> Content (this may not be there for you) -> [The workspace you want to work on (you may only have one.)]

Locating the chat area

Navigate to the site workspace that you want to communicate in (e.g. KontentNetwork, HomeJobLife, etc.), then in the header click on the button with the hashtag and the name of the workspace.

Using the chat area

Once on the chat page, click on the text box at the bottom, type out your message, and send the message. If you want to edit a message, click on the pencil* in the top right corner of the message box then edit away. If you want to delete it, click the ellipsis* in the top right corner then “delete.”

*You will only see the pencil and ellipsis if you are hovering over the message.

Folders

Many writers will not have folders, but those who do should only have one and it will be called “Content.” This folder is basically a folder full of workspaces for all our sites. There will also be a chat space for that folder where you can discuss content as a whole rather than just on a specific site.

This folder will appear in the sidebar at a higher level than the site workspaces.

Status

Status types

New Idea

This is the beginning of all new posts. When someone comes up with a new idea, they create a ticket and put it here.

Researching

If there are ideas in the “New Idea” section, you can go ahead and start doing the research for this article. Before you start researching, however, you need to change the status to “Researching” and assign the task to yourself.

Any research you do should be stored within the task. In order to do that, click on the task that you want to research and there will be a section to put a “description,” but we will be using this area for research and notes instead of a task description. There’s also a “comments” section on the right where you can comment on others’ work or communicate with other members of the team about that specific task.

Once you finish researching for the article, move the task to the “Ready” status.

Ready

This status is to indicate that it is ready for writing.

Writing

Find a task in the “Ready” section that you would like to write and change the status to “Writing” and assign it to yourself. After that, you can start writing based on our [writing guidelines] (need link). Most of the resources that you need for writing the article should be in the description of the task. Once you are done writing, move the task to “Needs Content Review.”

Needs Content Review

This status indicates that the article needs to be reviewed.

Content Reviewing

Change the status to “Content Reviewing,” assign the task to yourself, and start reviewing. In this review, you should make sure that it follows all of our [writing guidelines] (need link), is properly cited, has no plagiarism, complies with Yoast’s readability and SEO analysis, and is altogether a good post. After you have checked it, move it to either “Rejected” or “Approved.”

Rejected

If there is any reason that the post isn’t ready for publication and you cannot easily and quickly fix it, set the status to rejected, and in the comments put a reason why it was rejected (remember that this post will still have to go through polishing and final review). You can access the comments by clicking on the task, and the comments section will be on the right-hand side.

Approved

If you did your content review and it passed all your checks, change the status to “Approved.”

Polishing

Find an “Approved” task, change the status to “Polishing,” and assign the task to yourself. In the “Polishing” stage, you’re looking for grammatical and punctuation errors, and any small critique that you have on the post to make it just a little better.

After the polishing, change the status to “Needs Final Review.”

Needs Final Review

This status indicates that this post is complete and only needs a final review before publication.

Final Reviewing

Change the status to “Final Reviewing” and assign the task to yourself, then do one final review. At this point, the post shouldn’t need any editing, but your goal is to figure out if there is anything wrong with it.

Once you finish reviewing, publish the post and move the task to “Closed.” Congratulations, you have completed a post!

Closed

This is where published posts reside.

Using statuses and Assigning tasks

How to change statuses

All the way on the left-hand side of a task is a colored square that indicates the status. To change the status, click on the square and choose the status that you want to change it to.

Assigning a task

On the task that you want to assign to yourself, click on the assignee button then pick the one that says “Me.” To unassign yourself, repeat the process, but unselect yourself instead of selecting.

Alternatively, you can hover over the task and press the “M” key, and it will assign or unassign you from the task.

Time Tracking

Start a timer

Time tracking is a highly essential asset if you are planning on getting paid for your work because we pay you by the hour. Thankfully, ClickUp has a built-in time tracking feature that makes it really easy to track time. To do so, navigate to the task that you want to do, and click the green play button on the right-hand side of the task.

Add a note

If you want to add a note to your timer, click on the numbers on the timer, and type in your note.

Stopping a timer.

Hit the red stop button that took place of the play button to stop your timer (pretty self-intuitive, right?).

Different Views

ClickUp comes with many views, but we have three that we currently use. The views will show up in the header, where you can choose which one to use.

Screenshot from ClickUp: Shows the different views in the header.

List View

List view is the ClickUp default and also what we have been using for this guide.

Screenshot from ClickUp: Shows the list view.

Board View

Board view is more like Trello, making it more intuitive for some.

Screenshot from ClickUp: Shows the board view.

Chat View

The chat has been renamed to match the workspace that you are in, but it will always have a “#” as a logo.

Screenshot from ClickUp: Shows the chat view.

Notifications

ClickUp by default will send you a bunch of emails notifying you about changes in the app, so I would suggest personalizing your notifications. You can do so by clicking here, or by going to “Notifications” in the sidebar, clicking on the three dots in the top right corner, then clicking “Setting.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.